A little bit about the Committee

The Equity and Diversity Committee exists is to create and review policies and/or guidelines so that students throughout campus are working in an environment that is both celebratory and representative of the advancement of equity and diversity within the student community.

Our committee meetings once a month are a time where committee members can voice their concerns surrounding issues caused by an individual or a group that may be acting in a discriminatory manner. We can then actively formulate an approach to work towards overcoming adversity caused by race, gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation or physical or mental disability. We want to ensure that any individual studying at UWA and participating in the events run by the Guild, can feel confident that they are doing so in a discrimination-free environment.


The membership of the Equity & Diversity committee consists of:

  • Pauline Chiwawa (Women's Officer and Chair of the Equity and Diversity Committee)
  • Bre Shanahan (Guild President)
  • Vin Kalim (Public Affairs Council President)
  • Anna Kimpton (Guild Pride Officer)
  • Sophia Perkins (Guild Pride Officer)
  • Viknash VM (Guild ISD Director)
  • Brianne Yarran (WASAC President)
  • Rahul MS Kumar (Guild PSA President)
  • Jasmyn Joseph (Ordinary Committee Member)
  • Mohammed Zaman Khanv (Ordinary Committee Member)

Staff members sitting on the committee are:

  • Jenny Ophel (Associate Director – Human Resources and Executive Officer of the Equity and Diversity Committee)
  • Tony Goodman (Managing Director)

Standing Invitees are:

  • Saleem Al Odeh (Ethnocultural Co-Convenor)
  • Meizhu Chen (Ethnocultural Co-Convenor)
  • Mike Anderson (Access Co-Officer)
  • Martha J. McKinley (Access Co-Officer)
  • Emily Wainwright (Student Parents on Campus)
2020 Equity and Diversity Committee Minutes