

1.0 WELCOME AND OPENING

1.1 Attendance

Conrad Hogg, Adhish Kastha, Lincoln Aspinall, Taco Shiraishi, Nitin Narula, Bre Shanahan, Nisa Shahrin, Daniel Kuzich, Alexander Tan, Amy Hearder, Saleem Al Odeh, Fang Ke, Rahul MS, Neve Staltari, Jade Wu, Nathan Wytkin, Bradan Sonnendecker, Shahid Khan, Olivia Bartlett, Patricia Paguio, Mike Anderson, Lauren Espinoza, Luke Thomas, Saskia Mason, Martha McKinley and Brianne Yarran.

1.2 Apologies

Maddie Hedderwick and Clarice Antero.

1.3 Proxies

Amy Hearder for Joseph Chan, Daniel Kuzich carrying Raaghav Raj's vote, Rahul MS for Callum Lindsay, Nathan Wytkin for Ben Perry and Jade Mawby for Scott Harney.

1.4 Observers

Sophie Minissale and Caitlin Owyong.

1.5 Absent

Jade Mawby.

2.0 DECLARATION OF POTENTIAL OR PERCEIVED CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

None.

3.0 CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

None.

4.0 ELECTIONS

Conrad uses his discretion as chair to move the election of Chair before Vice President.

4.1 Chair

4.1.1 To be a member of Guild Council.

Lincoln moves a procedural motion to make Tony the Returning Officer. **Motion carries unanimously.**

Patricia is duly elected.

Patricia uses her discretion to move the election of Deputy Chair before Vice President.



4.2 Deputy Chair

4.2.1 To be a member of Guild Council.

Conrad moves a procedural motion to make Tony Returning Officer for all elections. **Motion carries unanimously.**

Bre is duly elected.

4.3 Vice President

4.3.1 To be an Ordinary Guild Councillor.

Joseph is duly elected.

4.4 Academic Board

4.4.1 Three (3) Member of Guild Council.

Bradan, Nisa and Patricia are duly elected.

4.5 Strategic Resources Committee

4.5.1 Two (2) Members of Guild Council, one of whom must be female.

Neve and Daniel are duly elected.

4.5.2 The Guild President is the Chair of the Strategic Resources Committee.

4.6 Catering & Tavern Committee

4.6.1 Three (3) Members of Guild Council, one of whom must be female.

Raaghav, Clarice and Shahid are duly elected.

4.6.2 Election of Chair of Catering & Tavern Committee.

Adhish is duly elected.

4.7 Student Services Committee

4.7.1 Two (2) Members of Guild Council, one of whom must be female.

Fang and Callum are duly elected.

4.7.2 Election of Chair of Student Services Committee.

Adhish is duly elected



4.8 Corporate Services Committee

4.8.1 Three (3) Members of Guild Council, one of whom must be female.

Clarice, Nitin and Raaghav are duly elected.

4.8.2 Election of Chair of Corporate Services Committee.

Raaghav is duly elected.

4.9 Governance Committee

4.9.1 Three (3) Members of Guild Council, one of whom must be female.

Bre, Bradan and Luke are duly elected.

4.9.2 The Chair of Guild Council is the Chair of Governance Committee.

4.10 Welfare & Advocacy Committee

4.10.1 Three (3) Members of Guild Council, one of whom must be female.

Nisa, Saleem and Jade are duly elected.

4.10.2 Election of Chair of Welfare & Advocacy Committee.

Maddie is duly elected.

4.11 Equity & Diversity Committee

4.11.1 One (1) Member of Guild Council.

Jade is duly elected.

4.11.2 Election of Chair of Equity & Diversity Committee.

Bre is duly elected.

4.12 Volunteering & Community Engagement Committee

4.12.1 Two (2) Members of Guild Council, one of whom must be female.

Olivia and Saleem are duly elected.

4.12.2 Election of Chair of Volunteering & Community Engagement Committee.

VACE Chair is elected externally.

4.13 Discipline Committee

4.13.1 Three (3) Members of Guild Council, one of whom must be female.

Maddie, Daniel and Ben duly elected.

4.13.2 The Guild President is the Chair of the Discipline Committee.



4.14 Personnel Board

4.14.1 One (1) Member of Guild Council.

Saleem is duly elected.

4.15 Enterprise Bargaining Agreement Committee

4.15.1 Two (2) Members of Guild Council, one of whom must be female.

Conrad moves a procedural motion to elect the same people to Joint Consultative and Enterprise Bargaining. **Motion carries unanimously.**

Clarice and Raaghav are duly elected.

4.16 Joint Consultative Committee

4.16.1 Two (2) Members of Guild Council as per the Enterprise Bargaining Agreement.

Clarice and Raaghav are duly elected as above.

4.17 Tenancy Committee Chair

4.17.1 One (1) Member of Guild Council.

Taco is duly elected.

4.18 Young Leaders Council Committee

4.18.1 Election of Chair of Young Leaders Council Committee to be an Ordinary Guild Councillor.

Raaghav is duly elected.

4.18.2 Two (2) Members of Guild Council.

Bre and Neve are duly elected.

4.19 Publications Committee

4.19.1 Two (2) Members of Guild Council, one of whom must be female.

Patricia and Ben are duly elected.

Conrad moves a procedural motion to suspend the meeting until Lincoln and Nitin return from scrutineering. **Motion carries unanimously.**

5.0 BUSINESS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES

None.



6.0 MOTIONS ON NOTICE (OPERATIONS)

6.1 The 106th Guild Council accepts the dates as attached to be the tentative dates for Guild Council Meetings including the Budget Meeting for the upcoming year. Moved: Adhish Kastha; Seconded: Conrad Hogg.

Motion passes unanimously.

7.0 QUESTION TIME

None.

8.0 MOTIONS ON NOTICE (REPRESENTATION)

8.1 "That in accordance with Statute 19 (1) requirement for two students nominated by the Postgraduate Students' Association to sit on Academic Board; Guild Council approves the PSA's nomination of Dennis Power (Vice President Coursework) and Alexander Sparrow (Vice President Research) as student members of Academic Board.

Moved: Alexander Tan; Seconded: Conrad Hogg.

Motion passes unanimously.

9.0 MOTIONS WITHOUT NOTICE

Conrad moves a procedural motion to defer motion 9.1 to the next Guild Council meeting. **Motion carries unanimously.**

- 9.1 The 106th Guild Council:
 - 9.1.1 Condemns the McGowan Labor Government for allowing fracking to go ahead in 2% of WA, as this will fuel the current global climate crisis and undermine the sovereignty of Indigenous people.
 - 9.1.2 Calls for an immediate 100% ban on fracking in WA.
 - 9.1.3 Calls on the Guild Environment Department to help organise future antifracking demonstration and promote the issue online.

Moved: Scott Harney; Seconded: Martha McKinley.

10.0 GENERAL BUSINESS

None.

11.0 CLOSE AND NEXT MEETING

Next meeting will be held Tuesday 11th December 2018 at 6:00 PM. Please contact the Guild General Secretary (secretary@guild.uwa.edu.au) with any apologies or proxies. If unable to attend, please advise which dates you are available to reschedule if a quorum cannot be met.