

UWA STUDENT GUILD The University of Western Australia M300, UWA Student Guild - 35 Stirling Hwy, Crawley WA 6009 (08) 6488 2295| hello@guild.uwa.edu.au facebook.com/UWAStudentGuild | @UWAStudentGuild

1. WELCOME AND OPENING

- 1. Attendance
- 2. Apologies
- 3. Proxies
- 4. Observers
- 5. Absent

ACCEPTED.

2. DECLARATION OF POTENTIAL OR PERCEIVED CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Owen Myles will be abstaining from voting on the PSA Honorary Motion, due to his employment as the PSA President.

3. CONFIRMATION OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

1. May Council minutes will be confirmed at the July Council

4. BUSINESS ARISING FROM PREVIOUS MINUTES

None.

5. CORRESPONDENCE

6. DIRECTOR'S REPORTS

- **1.** Managing Director's Report
- **2.** Associate Director Corporate Services & Finance Report
- 3. Associate Director of Student Services Report
- **4.** Associate Director (Commercial) Report

ACCEPTED.



7. MOTIONS ON NOTICE (OPERATIONS)

 That Council accept the resignation of Dionel Ramachandran from his position as Ordinary Guild Councillor. Moved: Jack Looby; Seconded: Vinuri Gajanayake

Passed.

 That Council co-opt Sean Matjeraie to the position of Ordinary Guild Council and assumes all committee positions left vacant by Dionel.
Moved: Nevin Jayawardena; Seconded: Vinuri Gajanayake

Passed.

 That Council permits the Guild President to pursue a Liquor License for Hackett Café.
Moved: Nevin Jayawardena; Seconded: Megan Lee

Passed Unanimously.

4. That Council congratulate and welcome Dr Robert French AC in his appointment as the next Chancellor of the University of Western Australia. Moved: Nevin Jayawardena; Seconded: Megan Lee

Passed Unanimously.

 That Guild Council accept the attached Welfare Rules as approved by the Governance Committee.
Moved: Nevin Jayawardena; Seconded: Hannah Matthews

Passed Unanimously.



6. That Guild Council accept the Terms of Reference for the Referendum committee as approved by the Governance Committee Moved: Jack Looby; Seconded: Nevin Jayawardena

Passed.

 That Guild Council accept the PSA Honorarium, as approved by Governance Committee.
Moved: Nevin; Seconded: Hannah Matthews

Passed.

- **8.** That Guild Council:
 - a) accepts the Proxy Code of Conduct as approved by the Governance Committee;
 - b) requires that all proxies must sign the agreement before they can be accepted onto Council.

Moved: Jack Seconded: Nevin Jayawardena

Passed Unanimously.

9. **REPORTS**

- 1. Guild President
- 2. Vice-President
- 3. Secretary
- 4. Treasurer
- 5. Education Council President
- 6. Public Affairs Council President
- 7. Societies Council President



UWA STUDENT GUILD The University of Western Australia M300, UWA Student Guild - 35 Stirling Hwy, Crawley WA 6009 (08) 6488 2295 | hello@guild.uwa.edu.au facebook.com/UWAStudentGuild | @UWAStudentGuild

- 8. Women's Department
- 9. Welfare Department
- 10. Environmental Department
- 11. International Student Services
- 12. Pride Department
- 13. Guild Sports Representative
- 14. WASAC Chair
- 15. Postgraduate Student's Association
- 16. Residential Student's Department
- 17. Pelican Editors
- 18. Volunteering and Community Engagement Committee Chair

Reports as tabled.

8. QUESTION TIME

9. MOTIONS ON NOTICE (REPRESENTATION)

 That Council accept the following for inclusion in the Guild Policy Book: "That the Guild recognises the financial benefit that the Student Services Amenities Fee (SSAF) provides to the UWA Student Guild. Any spending of student money towards the delivery of student services and amenities, should be followed under the direction of the UWA Student Guild." *Moved: Nevin Jayawardena; Seconded: Alexandra O'Brien*

Passed.



10. MOTIONS WITHOUT NOTICE

 The Council co-opt Sean M to the Guild discipline for the current matter before the committee.
Moved: Nevin Jayawardena; Seconded: Alexander Robinson

Passed.

The 104th Guild Council acknowledges its budgeted expenditure of \$34,850 for the NUS affiliation and conferences.
Moved: Lina El Rakhawy; Seconded: Alex O'Brien

Passed.

11. GENERAL BUSINESS

1. Election for vacant committee positions

Tenancy Chair:

Jack Looby and Justin Workman were nominated. Jack Looby elected.

Welfare and Advocacy Committee:

Pheobe Ho was nominated. Pheobe Ho elected unopposed.

Governance Committee:

Sean Matjeraie and Lewis Hutton were nominated. Sean Matjeraie elected.

Academic Board:

Sean Matjeraie was nominated. Sean Matjeraie elected unopposed.



UWA STUDENT GUILD The University of Western Australia M300, UWA Student Guild - 35 Stirling Hwy, Crawley WA 6009 (08) 6488 2295| hello@guild.uwa.edu.au facebook.com/UWAStudentGuild | @UWAStudentGuild

Personnel Board:

Sean Matjeraie was nominated. Sean Matjeraie elected unopposed.

EBA:

Sean Matjeraie was nominated. Sean Matjeraie elected unopposed.

Joint Consultative:

Sean Matjeraie was nominated. Sean Matjeraie elected unopposed.

VACE:

Alex O'Brien was nominated. Alex O'Brien elected unopposed.

Referendum Committee:

Michael McKenzie, Vinuri Gajanayake, Sean Matjeraie and Owen Myles were nominated. **Michael McKenzie, Vinuri Gajanayake and Owen Myles elected.**

Governance Committee Member on Referendum Committee:

Jacob Fowler was nominated. Jacob Fowler elected unopposed.

Website Standing Committee:

Zee Ibrahim and Luke Andrews were nominated. **Zee Ibrahim and Luke Andrews** elected.

12. CLOSE AND NEXT MEETING

Next meeting will be held on Wednesday 26th July at 6.00pm. Please contact the Guild Secretary (<u>secretary@guild.uwa.edu.au</u>) with any apologies or proxies. All office bearers and department officers will be available at 5.30pm immediately prior to the meeting. If unable to attend, please advise which dates you are available to reschedule, if a quorum cannot be met.